Do You Draw An Ethical Line?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Do You Draw An Ethical Line?

Would you deal with an affiliate who sells products that are bad for people? Take vaping for example. Recent news has showed us that black market vape juice can harm or even kill a person. It is very big business right now though and easy to get people to buy. In the right web environment we could easily make a lot of money on commissions alone.

You know, I'm just getting started with affiliate marketing and I never even considered that issue until now. I'm so glad you raised the question. There are many things that I wouldn't be comfortable promoting like tobacco, guns, diet pills, and things like that. However, I'm not sure how successful I could be with avoiding an affiliate who sold something that I deemed questionable. Amazon and Walmart sell a little of everything and it would be difficult to avoid linking to them since that's where most people shop.

Comment

People have been making money off the misfortune, bad choices and bad behavior of others since the beginning of time, I'm afraid. I don't think a marketer can make money if they do not deal with companies like Pfizer, Monsanto, Wal Mart, etc....Look at the top performers on the stock market. You'll get depressed if you think about it too much.

Comment

You can make money otherwise Don, but it takes more effort. Usually. You have to mix it up more and one way to do that is think seasonal. What sells more in February than July, for instance. More times than not you can do this without crossing any ethical lines.

Comment

I've noticed that some of the creative platforms we use, limit our choices and it seems mostly based on ethics. For instance, WordPress.com (the free version) won't allow affiliate links for multi-level marketing opportunities or their products.

Comment